OIML CEEMS Award - Full details


Many countries and economies with emerging metrology systems (CEEMS) suffer from a lack of resources for the operation of a sound legal metrology system


Although these resources cannot be provided by the OIML, the Organisation supports initiatives for the development of legal metrology


To highlight the importance of legal metrology activities in CEEMS, and to provide an incentive for their improvement, the OIML established an Award for “Excellent achievements in legal metrology in Developing Countries” in 2009.

Following the establishment of the CEEMS Advisory Group (CEEMS AG) and an increased focus on OIML activities in this area, it was decided to rename the Award the “OIML CEEMS Award” from 2018.


OIML CEEMS Award - full details


Intention of the Award

The OIML CEEMS Award is intended to raise the awareness of, and create a more favourable environment for legal metrology, and to promote the work of the OIML. The Award intends: “to acknowledge and honour new and outstanding activities achieved by individuals, national services or regional legal metrology organisations contributing significantly to legal metrology objectives on national or regional levels”, in line with OIML D 1:2020 National metrology systems – Developing the institutional and legislative framework.


The Award

The Award consists of:

  • a Certificate of Appreciation signed by the CIML President;
  • an engraved Award trophy;
  • a token of appreciation, such as the publication of an article on the Award-winning achievement in the OIML Bulletin, or an invitation to make a presentation at the following CIML meeting.


Selection criteria

The criteria used to assess a candidate’s contribution or achievement include:

  • its significance and importance for the establishment of a new, or the improvement of an established, national or regional metrology system in the sense of OIML D 1:2020;
  • its novelty and ingenuity;
  • its attractiveness and model character for legal metrology systems in other countries, economies or regions.


Nominations and procedure

The BIML circulates an annual call for nominations for the Award and an announcement is also included in the OIML Bulletin.

Any individuals or organisations concerned with legal metrology, including the individual or organisation seeking the Award, may make a nomination which must contain facts, supporting documents and other evidence explaining why the candidate meets the criteria and deserves the Award.

The BIML draws up a list of the candidates, highlighting the importance of the achievements. The CIML President, in consultation with the two Vice-Presidents and the BIML Director, selects the Award winner, with the Award winner announced at the next CIML meeting.


2023 Award

There was no OIML CEEMS Award winner in 2023.


Past years' Awards

Click on the year to see the Award winner(s) for that year.


  2023* 2022 2021
2020 2019* 2018 2017
2016 2015 2014 2013
2012 2011 2010 2009

* No Award was given in 2019 or in 2023.